Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Frugal Friday: Filling the Freezer for Post-Baby, Part 2

on February 27, 2015

297Last week, I posted part 1, listing 10 recipes that I made to fill my freezer with meals to eat after my third baby was born. Here are some more of the recipes I made. Again, I’ll star my absolute favorites that I know I’ll make again.

  1. *Slow Cooker Party Pork 

This was another easy, tasty, inexpensive favorite. And–no lie–when I asked my husband what he thought of this dish, he (not knowing what it was called) said, “It’s like having a party in my mouth.” 🙂 So, there you have it. . .

  1. *Bean and Cheese Burritos

These are great to have on hand for anytime! I used this method to wrap and freeze the burritos, but I used this homemade refried bean recipe instead of canned, along with a little cheese. People, you have got to try these refried beans; you will never go back to canned again. They are so inexpensive and easy to make, not to mention absolutely delicious!! One of the easiest ways I found to make up a bunch of these burritos is to assemble them right after making a fresh batch of these refried beans (letting them cool before wrapping, of course). These refried beans also do freeze well on their own in a freezer container or bag.

  1. *Chicken, Broccoli, Cheese Casserole

Another delicious winner! This is a great one to double and eat one for dinner and have one for the freezer. The second time I made this, I halved the topping (only 1 sleeve of Ritz and ½ stick butter), because I thought the original recipe called for too much.

  1. *Homemade Chicken Nuggets

We loved these! For most recipes calling for chicken, I just buy a whole chicken, because it’s a lot cheaper. This recipe, though, is a great one if you find a good deal on boneless, skinless chicken breasts. Because you freeze them after you bake them, they are super easy to just reheat in the microwave.

  1. *Creamy Chicken Enchiladas

This is my go-to recipe for enchiladas. We love them! I doubled them one night, so I could freeze 1 pan. I froze them assembled. When ready to eat, I thawed overnight then baked as directed.

  1. *Baked Ziti 

This was good and easy to assemble. Great way to use ground beef if you bought some in bulk on sale.

  1. Cheesy Vegetable Chowder

This was pretty good. I might make it again, but I would definitely experiment with the cheese. I’m not a huge fan of Velveeta (or velveeta-like cheese; I used Aldi’s brand), but I’m guessing that’s what gave it the creamy texture. I think I would try half velveeta and half cheddar.

  1. Crockpot Orange Chicken

This was really easy, but we just weren’t a huge fan. My husband and I both like Chinese food, but homemade just never seems to meet our expectations.

  1. *Cheesy Potatoes and Ham

 Definite winner! As long as you’ve got some leftover ham, this is so incredibly simple and delicious.

  1. Slow cooker Beef and Mushrooms 

To be honest, I don’t remember much about this recipe. It was easy, and I don’t remember hating it, but I don’t remember loving it either. I didn’t star it on my own list as a “make again” recipe. It may be because it calls for ½ cup of apple juice, which I don’t normally buy, and I don’t think I’d buy apple juice just to make this recipe again. But feel free to try it for yourself–you might love it! 🙂

Next week, I’ll post part three.

{On Fridays, I attempt to pass along a frugal tip I have learned or am attempting to learn. I love a good deal, and I love to help our family stay within the budget by being frugal in every area of life!}

One response to “Frugal Friday: Filling the Freezer for Post-Baby, Part 2

  1. […] past couple weeks I posted parts 1 and 2, each listing 10 recipes that I made to fill my freezer with meals to eat after my third baby was […]

Leave a Reply

