Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Tasty Tuesday: Almond Joy Coconut Milk Ice Cream

on February 4, 2015

almond joy coconut milk ice creamMy friend, Sarah, recently told me that she made some coconut milk ice cream, to which I intelligently replied, “Does it taste like coconut?” 😉 When she told me that it was only made with coconut milk, honey, and vanilla, I knew I had to at least try it. I’m not a huge fan of coconut, but I do like some things with coconut. Like Almond Joy candy bars. And Mounds candy bars. So. . . I thought I’d work a little magic with the coconut milk and turn it into something yummy, and it worked!

I searched Pinterest for a basic coconut milk recipe, and finally hit this recipe from the Nourishing Gourmet. I followed the basic recipe exactly, then added the almonds and chocolate chips. I only used 1/3 cup of honey this time, but I think I will use ½ cup next time. It needed just a tiny bit more sweetness in my opinion.

Ingredients:

2-14 ounce cans of full fat coconut milk (I chilled mine)

1/3-1/2 cup of honey

2 tablespoons vanilla extract

½ cup chopped almonds

½ cup of chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet, but I think dark chocolate would be delicious too.)

Directions:

Combine the coconut milk, honey, and vanilla extract in a bowl, whisking well. If your coconut milk was not chilled, you may need to put you milk mixture in the fridge for a couple hours (or per your ice cream maker’s instructions). Follow ice cream maker’s instructions to make the ice cream. In the last 5 minutes of mixing, add the almonds and chocolate chips.

ice cream 3Place the softened ice cream in a shallow container.

Cover with plastic wrap, so that the plastic wrap is lying against the ice cream (to prevent freezer burn), followed by a lid.  Freeze for  2+ hours. I didn’t do this, but I did think that some toasted coconut served on top would be delicious!

Enjoy!

Calvin and Mackenna Ice cream

My kiddos enjoyed watching the ice cream form. I must admit, I always get a kick out of watching the transformation from liquid to ice cream too! 🙂

ice cream 1ice cream 2

 

 

 

{On Tuesdays, I share a yummy recipe. Typically, my recipes will be super easy, because I’m a mom with littles. I try to be healthy and frugal as well. But I like good food, so it will always be delicious! }

Leave a Reply

