Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Tasty Tuesday: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles

on January 27, 2015

chocolate chip cookie dough truffles (2)This month my husband’s family celebrated his parents’ 50th wedding anniversary. It was a grand celebration honoring both their faithfulness to each other as well as the faithfulness of God in their lives.

I had the fun and challenging task of deciding the menu and making the food. As always, the desserts were the most fun part. I wanted to make something that would be simple for people to just grab and eat, without requiring forks. I also wanted something I could make ahead, if possible. And of course, there must be a chocolate option; the difficulty was choosing which chocolate option! When I came upon this recipe for truffles at iheartnaptime and tested them out, my mind was made up. My only modification was using semi-sweet chocolate chips in the cookie dough, as well as in the coating.

These cookie dough truffles contain no raw egg, so they are perfectly safe to eat (if you can really even consider chocolate chip cookie dough truffles safe! More like dangerous to your healthy diet!!) The extra vanilla (1 Tbsp per batch) is what makes up for the lack of egg, I believe, in order to help everything stick together.

I definitely recommend the coarse sea salt on top. You can make them without it, but the additional saltiness places these truffles out of this world–definitely worth the extra purchase! It also makes them  more visually appealing, in my opinion. chocolate chip cookie dough truffles

Each batch makes about 20, more or less, depending on the size of the dough balls. If you make large batches of these (I made 240), you will not need as much of the chocolate for dipping, I found. I multiplied the batch by 12, but I did not need the entire 24 cups of melted chocolate for dipping. I recommend starting with less and melting more as needed (unless of course you have some strawberries, pretzels, graham crackers, or nuts on hand to dip in your leftover chocolate; I may or may not have done so! 😉 ).

Here is my (almost-exact) version of the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup butter, softened
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet)
  • 2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (for dipping)
  • Sea salt (optional, but highly recommended)

Directions:

Line a baking sheet with wax paper. In a bowl mix together butter, sugar and vanilla. Then add flour and mix just until combined. Stir in the1 cup of chocolate chips. Make one inch balls with the dough and place on the pan. Freeze for about 30 minutes.

When the dough is firm, melt the two cups chocolate chips in the microwave at 50% power. Then dip the cookie dough in the chocolate with a fork. Tap off an excess chocolate. Place back on wax paper and top immediately with sea salt if desired. (If you forget to sprinkle the sea salt immediately, the chocolate will dry fast, and the salt won’t stick. If this does happen, you can dab a bit more melted chocolate on top of the truffle and sprinkle salt on.) Place back in the freezer until chocolate has hardened. Store in the fridge. (Extras can be stored in the freezer as well).

Enjoy! 🙂

{On Tuesdays, I share a yummy recipe. Typically, my recipes will be super easy, because I’m a mom with littles. I try to be healthy and frugal as well. But I like good food, so it will always be delicious! }

Leave a Reply

