Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Tasty Tuesday: Baked Pineapple Casserole

on December 23, 2014

photo (6)I finally completed my Christmas dinner shopping last night. It was pretty crazy out there! I feel a little late with my prep this year, but–hey–I’m a busy pastor’s wife and a mom of 3! 🙂 If you are still planning your menu and looking for a side dish to go with your ham, this recipe is perfect! Turkey dinners are always easy to plan for me, because the stuffing is a natural accompaniment for the turkey. But I’ve always had a harder time choosing sides with ham (personally, I like scalloped potatoes or baked mac & cheese, but my husband wanted something different this year). A couple years ago, a friend had us over for a ham dinner, and she made this pineapple casserole. As soon as I tasted it, I knew it was the perfect accompaniment for ham! I forgot to get the recipe from her, but I found something very similar (if not the same) at allrecipes.com  I did alter the recipe slightly, reducing the butter and sugar by half and increasing the amount of bread. I also highly recommend using the crushed pineapple in juice, not syrup. This recipe takes less than 20 minutes to prep and about 1 hour to bake. It serves about 6.

Ingredients

¼ cup butter, softened

½ cup sugar

4 eggs

1 pinch ground cinnamon (optional)

1 pinch ground nutmeg (optional)

8 slices white bread, torn (use a firm bread like French or Italian)

1 20-oz can crushed pineapple in juice (undrained)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350*. Grease a medium-sized casserole dish.

2. In mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar. Beat in eggs one at a time. Stir in cinnamon and nutmeg if you are using them. Add bread and crushed pineapple, stirring gently to combine.

3. Transfer to baking dish and bake until bubbly and lightly browned, about 1 hour.

Enjoy!

{On Tuesdays, I share a yummy recipe. Typically, my recipes will be super easy, because I’m a mom with littles. I try to be healthy and frugal as well. But I like good food, so it will always be delicious!}

Leave a Reply

