Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Tasty Tuesday: Homemade Guacamole

on June 24, 2014

ImageI remember that once-upon-a-time I didn’t really know what avocados tasted like. Whenever I ordered Red Robin’s BLTA (Bacon, Lettuce, Tomato, and Avocado) wrap, I would request {the now-unthinkable request!} no avocado.

Then I married my husband, the man who has been making guacamole (made out of avocados for those of you who do not know that) since he was a boy. He then taught me how to make guacamole, and we eat it ALL the time! It actually amazes me that people buy store-bought guacamole, seeing that it is so incredibly easy (and much more delicious and probably cheaper) to make.

I am constantly surprised, however, at the number of people who have never had guacamole. I think they must be afraid of it because of the long name and the green color?? 😉

Here is my husband’s basic recipe. It is very basic, because guacamole is very basic! You can obviously use more than 2 avocados, but you would obviously increase the ratio of the other ingredients as well.

Ingredients:

  • 2 avocados
  • Salt & pepper, to taste
  • Chopped onion, to taste (I don’t like the onion crunch, so we use onion powder, to taste)
  • ½-1 roma tomato, chopped (you can actually use any tomato you want)
  • Lemon juice (if we don’t have fresh lemons, we just use half a cap-full of lemon juice)

Directions:

  • Cut the avocados in half (there is a big seed in the middle, which you will remove)
  • Scoop out the avocado flesh with a spoon into a bowl
  • Add salt, pepper, and onion
  • Mash the avocado (we use a potato masher)
  • Add tomato and lemon juice; stir with spoon until tomato is well-incorporated

Avocado Tips:

  • The ripeness of the avocado you buy should be determined by when you are planning on using the avocado. If I’m planning on using it the day of or day after I buy it, I look for very dark green (almost black) that are slightly soft when I gently squeeze them.
  • If it is going to be a few days before I use the avocados, I buy the brighter green ones.
  • If I want to hurry up the ripening process, I put my avocados in a paper bag with several apples, then close up the paper bag, leaving it on the counter. Works great!
  • Another way to assess the ripeness of an avocado is by looking at the brown “plug” (I don’t know what it is actually called) on the skin of the avocado. If you remove that, a ripe avocado will be bright green underneath. An over-ripe avocado will be brown. (I always remove that plug first anyway, because it may accidentally get spooned out with the rest of the avocado flesh; no fun biting into that!)
  • One of the reasons to put lemon juice in the guac, is that avocados begin to brown very quickly as soon as they are open to oxygen. Even when you do put leftover guac with lemon juice in the fridge, it will likely start to brown. We often cover all the surface area with plastic wrap (right against the guac), then put the lid on the bowl. This helps, but not completely. Even if it does start to brown on top, it is still ok to eat; just stir it up (the bottom should still be bright green). If it has been sitting for more than a couple days, it may brown all the way through and taste over-ripe.

And that, my friends, is how you make guacamole. Super easy, delicious, and healthy too!

Enjoy! 🙂

{On Tuesdays, I share a yummy recipe. Typically, my recipes will be super easy, because I’m a mom with littles. I try to be healthy and frugal as well. But I like good food, so it will always be delicious! }

Leave a Reply

