Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Tasty Tuesday: Chili’s Inspired Black Bean Burgers on Homemade Buns {Delicious & Healthy!}

on June 3, 2014

Black bean burger on homemade bunI am not a vegetarian, and I do appreciate a delicious meaty hamburger occasionally. But I also enjoy a tasty non-meat version as well. Not to mention the health benefits as well as time- and cost-saving that a homemade non-meat burger provides. If you substituted the egg for an egg substitute, I think my vegan friends could even enjoy this one! 😉

I did not tell my husband before he bit into this burger that it contained no meat. After he took a bite, I asked him how he liked it. He said it was good, and when I told him it was made out of black beans, he said, “Really?” Score! 🙂

So, I am actually going to share two recipes today, one for the bean burger and the other for the homemade buns. Both are tasty, frugal, and healthy–can’t beat that!

Chili’s Inspired Black Bean Burgers (found here at my favorite bargain website, hip2save.com!)

Ingredients:

* 1 can (14 oz.) black beans or 1 and 1/2 cups cooked dried beans
* 1 small onion
* 2 cloves garlic (crushed)-substitute appx. 1/4 tsp. garlic powder or minced garlic
* 2 tsp. cajun seasoning
* 1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs
* 1 egg
* 1/2 teaspoon hot sauce (like Sriracha)
* 1 teaspoon parsley flakes
* Hamburger buns [see my recipe below]
* Cheese or any toppings desired

Instructions:

Drain beans well. Put onion and garlic in food processor and blend until fine. Add beans and blend well until mashed consistency. Place into a mixing bowl and add bread crumbs, egg, hot sauce, parsley, Cajun seasoning, and stir. Mix well and shape 4 patties (I opted to make 3 larger patties). Place on a well greased stovetop grill pan like I did or use an outdoor grill. Cook 5-6 minutes on each side. You can also cook in the oven on Broil for 10-12 minutes per side on a greased foil-lined pan.

Notes: These are fragile patties and tricky to turn so be careful. I used two spatulas to flip the patties and I think thicker patties are much easier to flip.

Soft Hamburger Buns (from Pennies & Pancakes)

*Makes one dozen

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (or just over 4 cups whole wheat flour)
  • 2 1/2 tsp. yeast
  • 2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 beaten egg

DIRECTIONS

  • Warm the milk, water, and butter in the microwave to the temp. of a warm bath (NOT hot). Stir until butter melts completely.
  • In a large bowl, mix together the flour, yeast, sugar, and salt. Mix in the milk mixture, then add the egg. Dough should be only slightly sticky. Knead until the dough is smooth and elastic (8-10 minutes).
  • Divide the dough into 12 balls, and place them on a large, greased baking sheet. Lightly press down on the top of each ball of dough, so that the top is more flat than rounded. They will puff up more during rising and baking. Sprinkle with sesame seeds if desired.
  • Cover with a dishtowel, and let rise 30-40 minutes. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  • Bake for 12-14 minutes, until golden brown on top. Serve as desired, and store for 3-5 days on the counter, or 4-6 months in the freezer.

[I made these again on Saturday and used all whole wheat flour plus a couple tablespoons of ground flaxseed for added health benefit. They were good and hearty! If you do like a little softer bread (and, unfortunately, less healthy), use all white flour or half-white/half-wheat; I’ve done both.]

Enjoy! 🙂

{On Tuesdays, I share a yummy recipe. Typically, my recipes will be super easy, because I’m a mom with littles. I try to be healthy and frugal as well. But I like good food, so it will always be delicious! }

Leave a Reply

