Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Worthy Word Wednesday: Words Every Mom Needs to Hear

on May 7, 2014

This image was originally posted to Flickr by Mark Colomb at http://flickr.com/photos/68115122@N06/6286625273. It was reviewed on 12 May 2013 by the FlickreviewR robot and was confirmed to be licensed under the terms of the cc-by-2.0.I read a blog post a couple weeks ago that cut me to the quick. The first line itself had me hooked, because it is what I’ve thought and most likely said several times: “’I don’t want to go to church this morning! There’s no point,’ I told my husband despondently.”

Regardless of your specific church situation–big or small, well-staffed nursery or not–if you have young children, you have probably thought the same thing. Why go if you are just going to be nursing your infant, holding your child with the runny nose in the back, watching just your own kids in the nursery, sitting with your preschooler at the back of the auditorium trying to teach him to sit quietly and listen??

This blog post, How Mothers Can Worship in the Midst of Inconvenience, was a great encouragement to me and brought me to tears. The author reminded me that “Most of life as a mother is worshiping when circumstances are inconvenient.” Thus, it is absolutely essential that I realize that “right now I’m called to worship right where I am—in the midst of inconvenience.” By doing so, we teach our children that worshiping isn’t just about what we can “get.” It’s about what we can give to God.

And, yes, it is exhausting. Yet, the author called us to find rest and comfort in Christ’s words in Matthew 11:28-30:

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.

As we approach Mother’s Day this Sunday, it is a day to honor mothers. Yet more importantly, it is the day (Sunday) that we worship God. So, let us do so regardless of the ease of our circumstances or the fulfillment of or disappointment of Mother’s Day expectations.

I also read an encouraging post, entitled, 8 Things I Want My Toddler to Thank His Mom For (in 20 Years). This is another good one to encourage us young moms in our mothering and give us a long-term perspective.

Finally, just in case you haven’t seen this one, I encourage you to also watch this video about the World’s Toughest Job. It’s pretty much spot on! 🙂

All that said. . . Happy Mother’s Day!

{On Wednesdays, I share from a book, blog, or other resource some “worthy words.” I love to read, but my time for reading has been much decreased since the birth of my first child. I am encouraged when I am able to read snippets of precious truth as I come across them. Hopefully these few words will encourage your heart, as well as give you a resource for fuller reading as your time allows.}

Leave a Reply

