Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Frugal Friday: Paint the Top of Your Chest Freezer with Chalkboard Paint!

on May 2, 2014

ImageOne of the items that has helped me save money is my chest freezer. Sadly, mine started randomly thawing and is now kaput! 😦 Talk about major bummer when you open your freezer to see all the food thawing/thawed. Thankfully, my supply was running low as I planned on filling it back up next month with freezer meals for the new baby in August.

Because they are so useful, however, we will be buying another one. Buying meats on sale, freezing your own fruits and veggies, making freezer meals–all ways in which one can save money!

The bigger your chest freezer, though, the easier it is to forget what is deep down inside. Initially, I thought of making a list next to my freezer. But then, I thought of something even better–chalkboard paint!

This is not a tutorial by any means, but I will tell you what I did. First, I lightly sanded the top. This was probably mostly necessary, because our chest freezer was used and had a little rust on it. Then, I primed the top with Rustoleum’s primer for aluminum or galvanized metal (clearance at Lowes). I then applied a thin layer of chalkboard paint. I used a foam roller for that. I have found (in my extremely limited chalkboard paint experience) that a foam roller applies the paint very smoothly to allow for easier writing. Once completely dried, I applied another coat of chalkboard paint. I may have done a third, but I don’t remember (Sorry! Preggo brain! 🙂 )

Now, every time I added an item, I could just add it, along with the date, to my list right on the freezer itself. When I removed an item, I could just erase it. Super simple, plus it covered up any rust spots, making it much more attractive in my opinion!

Alrighty then. . . Anybody selling a chest freezer?? 😉

{On Fridays, I attempt to pass along a frugal tip I have learned or am attempting to learn. I love a good deal, and I love to help our family stay within the budget by being frugal in every area of life!}

2 responses to “Frugal Friday: Paint the Top of Your Chest Freezer with Chalkboard Paint!

  1. Linda Huffstutler says:

    Great idea!!!

  2. […] the date made, use-by date, defrosting instructions, and preparation instructions. I also later painted my deep freezer with chalkboard paint for easier […]

Leave a Reply

