Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Worthy Word Wednesday: When Your Toddler Throws Food {Again} on Your {Just-Cleaned} Floor. . .

on April 23, 2014

ImageWe had some new friends over for dinner last night. Having people over is always just the motivation I need to clean the house, especially the floors which I especially dislike cleaning.

While I was cleaning the floors, I remembered again why I dislike it so much. My almost-2-year-old daughter, Mackenna threw the banana that was partially eaten on the floor. Then, while we ate, she threw the rest of her dinner on the floor. (This is clearly a work-in-progress with her!)

Once again, I wondered why exactly I clean. I read once that cleaning a house with little ones running around is like brushing your teeth while eating oreos. I completely agree. . . except I’d rather eat the oreos than clean my house. 🙂

All that to say, I was once again encouraged by truth when I read Nicole’s article from {my favorite} blog, girltalk, entitled Easter Sunday and Tuesday Chores. She says:

If we work in our home for human applause our work will be in vain. Our family will never appreciate us enough. The world will never esteem us enough. Even if we seek our own personal satisfaction or fulfillment, we’ll come up empty. Nothing will be gained. We might as well go chase the wind.

But if we abound in the work of the Lord, for the sake of the glory of our Lord, we can be absolutely sure it is not in vain, as surely as we know that our Savior rose from the grave.

I encourage you to read the whole post and be encouraged, especially if you have a food-throwing toddler! 😉

{On Wednesdays, I share from a book, blog, or other resource some “worthy words.” I love to read, but my time for reading has been much decreased since the birth of my first child. I am encouraged when I am able to read snippets of precious truth as I come across them. Hopefully these few words will encourage your heart, as well as give you a resource for fuller reading as your time allows.}

2 responses to “Worthy Word Wednesday: When Your Toddler Throws Food {Again} on Your {Just-Cleaned} Floor. . .

  1. Uplifting post, just what I needed! thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

