Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Monday Meditations: The Power & Hope of the Resurrection Celebrated Every Day!

on April 21, 2014

ImageLast week, I prepared all week for Easter. I talked about the Lord’s death and resurrection with my kids. I prepared a special treat to teach them the truths of the resurrection (resurrection rolls). I prepared a special meal and a special Sunday School lesson for Sunday. I got up early on Sunday morning to make my family a nice breakfast and listened to music to prepare my heart for worship.

But for various reasons, I ended up being frustrated and grumpy. I sat in the nursery with my two kiddos and I felt sorry for myself that things didn’t go as I planned. As I listened/watched from the little TV in our nursery corner to the hymns, prayers, and the message, the Lord started to teach me something.

This day that we celebrate the Lord’s resurrection, the day we call “Easter,” is just a day we have chosen to especially remember the Lord’s resurrection (i.e., there is no command to celebrate the Lord’s resurrection once a year at this time we call Easter). Strictly speaking, it is really like every other Sunday, the Lord’s day, the “first day of the week.”

Every Sunday–every day, really–is an opportunity to remember the power of the resurrection. The hope of the resurrection. Every Sunday–every day–should call us to worship the risen Savior, the one who sits at the right hand of the Father and intercedes for us.

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you, who by God’s power are being guarded through faith for a salvation ready to be revealed in the last time. (1 Peter 1:3-5)

So, whatever may have discouraged us on Easter Sunday, whether it may have seemed more significant (no huge Easter production at your church, inability to attend Easter service, lack of guests at your Easter service, the death/memory of a loved one, etc) or trivial (no new Easter dress, no egg hunts or Easter baskets for the kids, ruined meal, inability to visit family, etc), we can remember that Jesus Christ’s resurrection is still to be celebrated! Because God is merciful, he gives us hope through Jesus’ resurrection that his power will guard us until the final day when we are finally presented to the Father as spotless because of Christ’s death and resurrection. He gives us hope that these trials–small or big–and sin struggles which discourage us will one day be over, because he is risen!

This is reason to have joy, hope, grace, and strength. Every Sunday. Every day.

{On Mondays, I share some thoughts from my pastor’s (husband’s) sermon on Sunday. This will be good for me, as it will help cement God’s truths in my head and heart. I hope these truths will encourage and challenge you! If you’re interested in hearing a particular sermon, you can head here to listen.}

2 responses to “Monday Meditations: The Power & Hope of the Resurrection Celebrated Every Day!

  1. Pam says:

    This was real good!,

Leave a Reply

