Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Tasty Tuesday: Homemade Stovetop Mac & Cheese {15-minute Recipe!}

on April 15, 2014

ImageThere are some days–like today–when comfort food is more appealing than usual. I’ve been sick for a while and have been sleeping on the couch for the past few nights due to my almost-constant cough. Now, Mackenna is sick too and Calvin seems to be on the verge. {May I just add that my wonderful husband just brought me a large lemonberry slush from Sonic and told me to add it to the “medical” portion of our budget?! Love him! Slushes are ½ off at Sonic today to “celebrate” tax day, by the way. 🙂 }

All that to say, mac & cheese sounded like the perfect lunch. I usually keep a box or two of Aldi’s max & cheese around if Dave is making dinner or if I get desperate for lunch, but I didn’t have any. But a couple weeks ago I tried this homemade recipe for the first time, and it is delicious, quick, and easy. And comforting! 🙂

Here is the recipe from NewLeafWellness.biz

Homemade Mac ‘n Cheese

Ingredients

  • 1/4 of a 1lb box of elbow macaroni (about 1 cup uncooked macaroni)
  • 1/4 pound sharp white cheddar cheese, shredded (about 1 1/2 cups – please shred your own for the best result)
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 cup 2% milk (or whatever you have on-hand)

Directions

  1. Cook macaroni according to directions on package.
  2. While macaroni is cooking, create cheese sauce: Melt butter in saucepan. Add flour, salt, and onion powder and stir until it forms a paste.  Add milk and bring to a boil.  Let boil for one minute or until sauce thickens.  Remove from heat and add cheese. Stir until cheese melts.
  3. Combine cheese sauce with cooked macaroni and serve!

The first time I made this recipe, I did shred my own white cheddar cheese, because for the first time in my life, I actually had some in the fridge. It wasn’t sharp, which I think would be even better. Today, I just used pre-shredded cheddar cheese, and I think I actually liked it better. I didn’t measure the salt and onion powder this time; I just added it to taste. I also used skim milk.

So much tastier than box, and it takes about the same amount of time–as long as it takes to boil your noodles. Yum!

Calvin absolutely loved it. His bowl was empty in very short order. 🙂  Image

{On Tuesdays, I share a yummy recipe. Typically, my recipes will be super easy, because I’m a mom with littles. I try to be healthy and frugal as well. But I like good food, so it will always be delicious! }

2 responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Homemade Stovetop Mac & Cheese {15-minute Recipe!}

  1. kellylmcnelis says:

    Hope you’re all feeling better soon! Glad you liked the recipe! 🙂

    • Holly says:

      Thank you! I’ve recently come across your site and have really enjoyed looking at your recipes. I made your brown sugar meatloaf tonight, and it was delicious! I also copied a bunch of your freezer recipes to start freezing in a couple months in prep for our next little one due in August. Thanks for a great resource! 🙂

Leave a Reply

