Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Tasty Tuesday: Mrs. Bubba’s (Cardino) Delicious Potato Salad

on April 8, 2014

ImageFirst of all, I don’t know Mrs. Bubba personally. She is either someone my brother-in-law Steve knows or a friend of his friend. But that is beside the point. This potato salad is delicious!

When I saw Steve making it recently, I questioned what exactly he was making. He was mashing the potatoes. Hmmm, I thought (and probably said) when he informed me he was making potato salad. Creamy potato salad?? But, I should have trusted the man who makes the best steaks in the entire world {No lie. Think of cutting into an amazingly flavorful, juicy steak with a butter knife. Think of sitting in the comfort of your own home being served the best filet mignon ever. All that being said, I should have trusted him. . . }

It was so good, I almost went for another (third? fourth?) helping instead of the chocolate cake for dessert. This is good stuff.

I will copy the recipe exactly as I received it, then I’ll add some notes that Steve or I recommend:

  • 5 lbs Potato boiled till soft
  • 1 doz hard boiled eggs
  • 1 quart Hellman’s mayonnaise new jar room temperature
  • Dijon mustard 2 tbs or to taste
  • Pickle relish 8 oz or to taste undrained
  • Onion powder / chopped fresh onions to tasted  / red onions may give it contrasting color
  • Season [with] salt to taste
  • Mix cooked potatoes, eggs, mayo together until creamy; stir in other ingredients. Serve hot; it’s really goooood.

*Steve recommended (and  I did) boiling the potatoes whole and unpeeled to save time. Once the potatoes are soft, you can run them under cold water and peel the skin off with your fingers.

*I used a potato masher to mush the potatoes. Mine were still a little chunky. I will probably cook my potatoes a teeny bit longer next time, so that they are really soft. You probably don’t want to mash them as much as you would mashed potatoes though.

*I cut up the eggs a little, then used my potato masher to mash them up more once I added them to the potatoes.

*I used whatever brand of mayonnaise I had. I think room temp is mostly recommended if you’re planning on serving the salad warm.

*I used onion powder.

*It is really good warm, but it’s really good cold too. I made mine the day before a potluck and refrigerated it overnight.

Enjoy! 🙂

{On Tuesdays, I share a yummy recipe. Typically, my recipes will be super easy, because I’m a mom with littles. I try to be healthy and frugal as well. But I like good food, so it will always be delicious! }

Leave a Reply

