Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Tasty Tuesday: Taco Salad Supreme

on March 18, 2014

taco saladThis salad was SOOO good. And this comes from someone who wishes I was but is not a salad person. I like salads when they are loaded with delicious stuff like meats, cheese, fatty dressing, real bacon bits, every topping imaginable, etc. But a salad with some tomatoes and a bit of low fat dressing is just not my thing (unlike my husband who will eat handfuls of raw spinach all by itself!).

Now, this salad is pretty loaded, but it is loaded with deliciousness and healthy stuff. I highly recommend it. The recipe is from a cookbook I have called Healthy Heart One-Dish Meals. I will copy the recipe here exactly, adding any changes I made or recommend in brackets.

I know the ingredient list looks long, but it’s actually pretty basic. If you are looking to cut out extra fat, you could probably cut out or reduce the cheese and sour cream, believe-it-or-not, because the salad is so flavorful and moist. I recommend not leaving out the cilantro; it gives a great boost in flavor!

Ingredients

3 (6-inch) corn tortillas

Vegetable cooking spray

½ pound freshly ground raw turkey {I actually used ground beef, b/c I had ½ pound already  thawed, but it would be just as good with ground turkey or even chicken strips)

1 cup chopped onion

1 cup frozen whole-kernel corn, thawed {I’m not a corn-in-my-food person, but I found this a good addition}

2 tablespoons minced jalapeno pepper {I liked this, but between this and all the chili pepper, my husband thought it was too spicy. I will probably cut this out in the future}

2 teaspoons chili powder

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 (15-ounce) can no-salt-added black beans, rinsed and drained {mine were not no-salt}

2 tablespoons white wine vinegar

1 tablespoon lime juice {I used lemon juice}

1 teaspoon chili powder

1 teaspoon vegetable oil {I used olive oil}

¼ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon ground red pepper {I used black pepper}

8 cups thinly sliced romaine lettuce leaves

1 cup (4 ounces) shredded reduced-fat Cheddar cheese {I used regular}

1 cup seeded, diced tomato {I didn’t seed mine}

¼ cup minced fresh cilantro

2 tablespoons sliced ripe olives {I used more}

½ cup nonfat sour cream {I used light}

{I also added sliced avocado on top}

Directions

  • Coat tortillas on both sides with cooking spray; cut into ¼-inch wide strips. Place in a single layer on an ungreased baking sheet; bake at 400* for 15 minutes. {I found 15 minutes way too long; mine were done after about 7}.
  • Coat a nonstick skillet with cooking spray; place over medium heat until hot. Add turkey and next 3 ingredients; cook over medium heat until turkey is done, stirring until it crumbles. Stir in chili powder, cumin, and beans; cook until thoroughly heated. Set aside.
  • Combine vinegar and next 5 ingredients; cover and shake vigorously.
  • Combine lettuce and vinaigrette {I combined mine in my salad spinner; this allowed the vinaigrette to coat the lettuce but drain off a bit, which I thought was perfect}. Place 2 cups lettuce mixture on each plate. Spoon turkey mixture over lettuce. Top with cheese and remaining 4 ingredients; serve with tortilla chips. Yield: 4 servings.

There you have it, folks! A delicious, easy, healthy, satisfying dinner. I was actually full the rest of the evening, which I thought was pretty impressive for a salad-as-the-main-course meal! 🙂 If you’re looking to go meatless, you could probably even substitute the meat for another can of black beans or pinto beans. I might try this some time too.

{On Tuesdays, I share a yummy recipe. Typically, my recipes will be super easy, because I’m a mom with littles. I try to be healthy and frugal as well. But I like good food, so it will always be delicious! }

Leave a Reply

