Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Frugal Friday: Homemade Yogurt/Greek Yogurt {Made in Your Crockpot!}

on March 14, 2014

yogurtWhen I first heard from a co-worker that you could make homemade yogurt, I was flabbergasted. I assumed it would require a lot of hard work and a bunch of ingredients. I was wrong.

It is so easy, and it is unbelievably cheaper than buying it–especially for the Greek yogurt. And it’s healthy. Can’t beat that! 🙂 I can’t remember where I found this exact recipe, but every recipe I’ve seen is a similar variation of this one.

Now, you do need yogurt “starter.” Basically, this is just some yogurt–bought or homemade–that has live, active cultures. I always use plain, full-fat yogurt for this, whether it’s store-bought or some of my leftover homemade yogurt. For every 4 cups of milk, use 2 tbsp of starter. Here’s the instructions:

Turn the crockpot on low. You can probably use any size, but my small one is perfect.

  • Remove your starter from the fridge.
  • Pour the amount of milk you’ve decided to use into a saucepan and heat over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until it reaches 185 degrees (use a candy thermometer). You’ll get the best results with whole milk, but I have combined whole and skim with no problem.
  • Once the milk reaches 185 degrees, remove the saucepan from the burner, cover, and  place pan in a sink ½-full of cold water.
  • Let milk cool, stirring occasionally until the milk lowers to between 90-110 degrees.
  • Measure yogurt starter into a bowl and pour 1 cup of the warm milk over it and stir together.
  • Pour the remaining milk into the crockpot, then stir in the starter/milk combination.
  • Put the lid on the crockpot, TURN IT OFF, and unplug. Wrap a heavy towel around the crockpot and let it sit for 6-10 hours.

For regular yogurt. . .

  • After the yogurt has set for 6-10 hours, place it in the fridge overnight without stirring. In the morning, you will have yogurt!

For Greek yogurt. . .

  • After the yogurt has set for 6-10 hours, place a cheesecloth over a strainer. Place the strainer over a bowl. Pour the yogurt into the cheesecloth-covered strainer.
  • Let the yogurt drain until the yogurt has reached your desired consistency.
  • Once finished draining, place the yogurt in the fridge.
  • The liquid that drains from the yogurt is called whey. This is a high-protein part of milk. We use ours in our fruit smoothies. There are many other uses for whey that I’ve heard of but never tried.

I try to save a few tablespoons of my homemade yogurt for my next batch. If you’ve done this a few times, you may notice that the yogurt starts to not thicken as much. If this happens, try buying some fresh yogurt for your next starter.

Although this is somewhat of an all-day recipe, the active time is very minimal. I love to eat this with fresh berries and homemade granola! 🙂

{On Fridays, I attempt to pass along a frugal tip I have learned or am attempting to learn. I love a good deal, and I love to help our family stay within the budget by being frugal in every area of life!}

One response to “Frugal Friday: Homemade Yogurt/Greek Yogurt {Made in Your Crockpot!}

  1. […] Frugal Friday: Homemade Yogurt/Greek Yogurt {Made in Your Crockpot!} […]

Leave a Reply

