Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Worthy Word Wednesday: When Life Feels Mundane

on March 12, 2014

ImageI remember when I used to work as a nurse in the hospital, and I’d wake up early on the morning of the first of two or three 12-hour shifts, and I’d think, “Yay! {please note sarcasm} I get to wake up and work hard for 12+ hours, then come home and go to bed and then do it again, and again. . .”

Now that I stay home with my kiddos full-time, it’s a little bit different, but the hard work and repetition of changing diapers, disciplining children, planning for/shopping for/cooking meals, cleaning up the kitchen, laundry, etc can still feel mundane at times.

This week, I read Paul Tripp’s article, “Groundhog Day,” and I found it very encouraging and full of hope. I encourage you  to read the whole (short) article here. But here’s a couple tidbits to whet your appetite.

He said that part of our problem is that we focus on the mundanity of life; rather, he says, we should “zoom out.” In doing so, we can learn 2 important things:

First,

There’s more to life than this moment you’re living in. Paul says, “If in Christ we have hope in this life only, we are of all people most to be pitied” (1 Corinthians 15:19). If your faith didn’t have a future, and if your story didn’t end with eternity, it would be a colossal waste of time. . . . But by zooming out, you know that your life has a direction. Your sanctification has purpose.

Second,

Zooming out and focusing on eternity will also remind you that there’s more to come. One of my favorite passages in the Bible is Revelation 7: “He who sits on the throne will shelter them with his presence. They shall hunger no more, neither thirst anymore; the sun shall not strike them, nor any scorching heat…and God will wipe away every tear from their eyes” (Revelation 7:15-17).

What an encouragement! May God help us to remember, especially on those mundane-feeling days, that believers’ lives are not a waste and that the best is yet to come!

{On Wednesdays, I share from a book, blog, or other resource some “worthy words.” I love to read, but my time for reading has been much decreased since the birth of my first child. I am encouraged when I am able to read snippets of precious truth as I come across them. Hopefully these few words will encourage your heart, as well as give you a resource for fuller reading as your time allows.}

Leave a Reply

