Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Tasty Tuesday: Light and Cheesy Broccoli Casserole

on March 11, 2014

Image

 

My mother-in-law made this dish for us years ago, and I really enjoyed it. She gave me the recipe, but I kind of forgot about it until recently. My husband and kids really enjoy this dish, and it’s hearty enough to be the only side dish with a meal (we had it with fish last night). I did double the recipe this last time, baking it in a 9×13 pan for about 10-15 minutes longer.

 

Ingredients

1 pkg (10 oz) frozen chopped broccoli {I used about 2-1/2 cups of chopped fresh broccoli that I steamed in the microwave for 5 minutes }

1 cup sour cream {last night I doubled mine but forgot that I had just under a cup of sour cream left; I used homemade yogurt to get the full amount, and it worked great!}

1 cup creamed cottage cheese {I used low-fat small curd}

½ cup Bisquick baking mix {I used homemade baking mix}

¼ cup margarine or butter, melted

2 eggs

1 tomato, peeled and sliced thin

¼ cup grated Parmesan cheese

Directions

  • Heat oven to 350. Grease 8x8x2 dish. Spread broccoli in dish.
  • Beat sour cream, cottage cheese, Bisquick, margarine, and eggs with beater 1 minute. Pour over broccoli.
  • Arrange tomato slices on top.
  • Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.
  • Bake until golden brown and when a knife inserted halfway between center and edge comes out clean, about 30 minutes. {I find it always takes a little longer}

I usually put some salt and pepper on my serving, but it’s good without it too. Enjoy! 🙂

{In a couple future posts, I’ll post on making homemade yogurt (easy!) as well as homemade Bisquick–both money savers!}

{On Tuesdays, I share a yummy recipe. Typically, my recipes will be super easy, because I’m a mom with littles. I try to be healthy and frugal as well. But I like good food, so it will always be delicious!}

Leave a Reply

