Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Frugal Friday: Buying, Cleaning, and Freezing Strawberries

on March 7, 2014

ImageWe drink homemade fruit smoothies (milk, bananas, strawberries, blueberries, spinach, and almonds) a few times a week. We love them (I especially love getting in my spinach that way–can’t taste it!). Berries can add up, especially if you buy them frozen or out of season.

If I can find fresh strawberries for $1.50 or less a pound, I will buy them fresh. If not, Aldi has a decent price on frozen strawberries. In season, you can often find them fresh for about $1/lb, which is when I really stock up. Last week, however, I found them (at Valli in Rockford, IL) for $0.88/lb!! That is a phenomenal deal. I bought 15 lbs, and I probably could have bought more.

The way that I wash strawberries is simply by filling my (clean) sink with cold water and adding a decent splash of white vinegar; let sit for 4-5 minutes. If you’re planning on just eating them through the week, leave the stems on and let them dry. Then place them in an open bowl in the fridge.Image

Since I was freezing my strawberries, I cut off the stems and laid them on paper towels to dry. Once decently dry (I dab them with another paper towel to get off excess water), I place them cut side down on a cookie sheet, making sure strawberries are not touching. Next, I place them in the fridge for about one hour. After one hour, I move the cookie sheet to the freezer and freeze until frozen, about 8-9 hours or overnight. Once frozen, I bag them in freezer bags.

photo 3 (22)

Now, the cost of frozen berries varies. If I found a bag for around $1.50/lb I would probably go with that. However, frozen berries can cost much more. Let’s assume that a 1lb bag of frozen berries was $2.80. If I bought 15, that would be $42. Buying them fresh and putting a small amount of work into it, I spent $13.20! I saved photo 4 (19)around $30 just by freezing my own strawberries!Image

Next week, blueberries are on sale, so I’ll probably stock up a bit and freeze those too! 🙂

{On Fridays, I attempt to pass along a frugal tip I have learned or am attempting to learn. I love a good deal, and I love to help our family stay within the budget by being frugal in every area of life!}

One response to “Frugal Friday: Buying, Cleaning, and Freezing Strawberries

  1. […] they are so useful, however, we will be buying another one. Buying meats on sale, freezing your own fruits and veggies, making freezer meals–all ways in which one can save […]

Leave a Reply

