Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Tasty Tuesday: Restaurant-style Mexican Rice

on November 26, 2013

I always love the Mexican rice that restaurants serve. So, I frequently will buy a box of Mexican or Spanish rice as a side when I make Mexican meals. And I am always disappointed. So, I decided to look up recipes online.

Sure enough, I found a bunch. I wanted one that was simple, but yummy. This recipe at favfamilyrecipes.com fit the bill. And it sure is good. And EASY! 🙂

Ingredients:

3 tbsp vegetable oil

1 cup long-grain rice, uncooked

1 tsp fresh minced garlic

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 cup tomato sauce

1 (14-oz) can chicken broth (I used homemade)

3 tbsp finely chopped cilantro

Directions:

  • Heat oil in large saucepan over medium heat. Add rice and gently stir until the rice looks golden.
  • Add tomato sauce, chicken broth, and cilantro; turn heat to medium-high. Bring to a boil, then turn heat to low and cover.
  • Simmer 20-25 minutes.
  • Remove from heat and fluff with fork.

This would be a perfect side with my creamy chicken enchiladas! Enjoy! 🙂

{On Tuesdays, I share a yummy recipe. Typically, my recipes will be super easy, because I’m a mom with littles. I try to be healthy and frugal as well. But I like good food, so it will always be delicious! }

Leave a Reply

