Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Frugal Friday: Homemade Dry Shampoo

on November 22, 2013

ImageMy hair has the tendency to get very oily. For example, if I wash my hair this morning and don’t get a chance to do it again until tomorrow evening, my hair will look nasty by late tomorrow morning.  When I took a missions trip to Romania I bought some dry shampoo, because I wasn’t able to shower every day. It worked pretty well, but that stuff can be pricey. In desperation, I’ve also used baby powder in the past, but then my head smelled unfortunately similar to a baby’s bottom.

One day, I was looking at a hair tutorial, and she recommended using dry shampoo to give your hair a bit of body. I mentioned this to my sister, and she said that she uses something similar, but it is very pricey. Not wanting to spend money on an occasional nice hair-do or an occasional greasy-hair-fix, I searched the internet. Sure enough, I found several recipes.

Believe it or not, almost every recipe calls for cocoa! I was surprised. In fact, one source said that cocoa is in the ingredients in some salon-sold dry shampoos.

So, I tried it. . . and it works. I neither smell like baby powder or chocolate when I use it–added bonus! 🙂 I didn’t mark down the recipe when I made it, so I did another quick search today, and found a similar (or same) recipe here.

Here is the excerpt from the post:

 This is the recipe you’ll use if you have light hair or if you don’t have any cocoa powder on hand

      • 1/4 cup cornstarch
      • 1 tablespoon baking soda

Combine the cornstarch and baking soda in a container and shake shake shake.

I have really dark hair, so this is my go-to recipe. You can add more or less cocoa powder as needed – I use two tablespoons every time:

    • 1/4 cup cornstarch
    • 1 tablespoon baking soda
    • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder

Mix everything together in a small jar and you’re ready to go. Special bonus with this one: smelling like chocolate.

Just be careful that you  don’t add so much cocoa powder that it gets really dark – you need to keep the amount of cocoa powder less than the amount of cornstarch and baking soda, otherwise the heat from your hands and head can warm the cocoa powder and create a melty mess.

Now, I have dirty blonde hair, and I did use some cocoa. You may have to play with it to get the right color. Even with the cocoa, it can look a little like you’re graying at the roots, if you don’t rub it in well. I will probably add more cocoa next time. I also use an old blush brush to apply it to my roots. Then I just rub it in with my fingers and run a brush through my hair.

To be honest, my hair looks better sometimes when I use this. It absorbs the oil, and it gives my hair some body. This works great! 🙂

{Each Friday, I attempt to pass along a frugal tip I have learned or am attempting to learn. I love a good deal, and I love to help our family stay within the budget by being frugal in every area of life!}

Leave a Reply

