Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Worthy Word Wednesday: When Kids Interrupt “Me Time”

on November 20, 2013

cappuccino-coffee-1374500509RhdYou’ve just sat down with your cup of coffee and a good book. The kids have been napping for about 45 minutes, you just finished cleaning up from lunch and prepping dinner, and you’re all set to enjoy 45 minutes of rest, relaxation, and quiet. That’s not too much to ask for, right? As you settle in on your comfy couch with a warm blanket in front of the fire and take your first sip of coffee. . .

You hear the baby cry.

Or

You hear the toilet flush (aka 3-year old is awake and thinks nap time is over).

Or

Whatever (aka anyone or anything that may interrupt your “me time”)

When one of the above scenarios occurs, what is your reaction?

Frustration. Anger. Annoyance.

That is often my reaction. It’s especially interesting when I get angry that one of my children awoke when I was just sitting down to read my Bible. Hmmmm.

Our reactions to interruptions to “me time” reveal what we treasure. If we treasure “me time” more than God, than we will react with frustration, anger, and annoyance. Our rest and relaxation (“me time”) has become an idol. If we treasure God more than “me time,” then we will react quite differently. I think initial disappointment is a normal response, but we must immediately redirect that disappointment to think biblically about the situation.

Catherine Parks reminded me of this so well in her blog post, “Can’t I Just Get a Little Break?” She says,

God gives good gifts. I’m convinced coffee is one of them. A long phone conversation with a friend, an enjoyable story, a long bath—these are all good things. But they aren’t ultimate, and ultimately they can’t satisfy.

I’m learning to be thankful for the interruptions to “me time,” because they send me to the only One who can truly give me rest. Don’t get me wrong. I don’t always respond with truth and love. Sometimes I’m frustrated and wonder why I can’t just have what I deserve—a little break.

And then it hits me. I get what I don’t deserve. My Father has promised to give me rest. He has promised to give me all I need. He has poured out His wrath on His Son instead of on me. I know only love and grace.

In Philippians 4, Paul wrote to the church at Philippi, thanking them for their generosity toward him. He says at one point they were the only church who gave to meet his physical needs. Knowing the sacrifice they made, Paul encourages them by pointing them to the One who cares for them:

 My God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus (Phil. 4:19).

Like the Philippians, I can sacrifice my time and resources without worry. I don’t have to demand “me time.” God meets every need I have, through Christ. My weariness can lead me either to escape my troubles temporarily through indulgence, or it can lead me to true rest.

Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken (Ps. 62:5, 6 NIV).

Let us treasure God and let our reactions show that we treasure God and find rest in him alone–even when our kids interrupt our “me time”!

{On Wednesdays, I share from a book, blog, or other resource some “worthy words.” I love to read, but my time for reading has been much decreased since the birth of my first child. I am encouraged when I am able to read snippets of precious truth as I come across them. Hopefully these few words will encourage your heart, as well as give you a resource for fuller reading as your time allows.}

Leave a Reply

