Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Worthy Word Wednesday: Christians and Halloween

on October 30, 2013

Al Mohler, president of Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, maintains a favorite blog I follow, albertmohler.com. He speaks to many moral issues, always in light of biblical truth. His writing always causes me to evaluate my practices, beliefs, and values through Scripture’s lenses.

Last year, I remember his posting this article around Halloween, and I thought it was excellent. He posted it again today, and I thought I’d share. I’ve read other articles, claiming that Christians are being a bad testimony when they don’t give candy out at Halloween, but rather they shut themselves in their darkened homes. I must admit that I laugh when I read stuff like that.

If Christians choose to go trick-or-treating, that is a decision up to each family. Trying to tell another Christian who has made a decision based upon a biblically-based conviction that he is not being a “light” to the unbelievers around him when he turns off the house lights (again, I can’t help but laugh!) is unhelpful, to say the least.

A Christian’s values should not based upon what the unbelievers in the neighborhood expect. They should not be based solely upon  an emotional tie. They should be based upon Scripture, whatever choice is made. Mohler makes this clear.

The coming of Halloween is a good time for Christians to remember that evil spirits are real and that the Devil will seize every opportunity to trumpet his own celebrity. Perhaps the best response to the Devil at Halloween is that offered by Martin Luther, the great Reformer: “The best way to drive out the devil, if he will not yield to texts of Scripture, is to jeer and flout him for he cannot bear scorn.”

On October 31, 1517, Martin Luther began the Reformation with a declaration that the church must be recalled to the authority of God’s Word and the purity of biblical doctrine. With this in mind, the best Christian response to Halloween might be to scorn the Devil and then pray for the Reformation of Christ’s church on earth. Let’s put the dark side on the defensive.

Ephesians 6:11-13  Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places. Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm.

{On Wednesdays, I share from a book, blog, or other resource some “worthy words.” I love to read, but my time for reading has been much decreased since the birth of my first child. I am encouraged when I am able to read snippets of precious truth as I come across them. Hopefully these few words will encourage your heart, as well as give you a resource for fuller reading as your time allows.}

 

Leave a Reply

