Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Tasty Tuesday: Mom’s Homemade Bread {the BEST white bread you’ll ever make!}

on October 15, 2013

Mom's homemade breadI have been making my mom’s recipe for white bread forever. It is the best homemade bread I have ever had. If I wasn’t concerned about my weight and health, I would make it every week and eat it every day. Let me just say that if you use this bread to make a grilled cheese sandwich, you will never be content with store-bought bread ever again. I promise.

Now, this bread must be kneaded for 10 minutes. This feels like eternity if you’re doing it by hand (but it’s worth it!). But, if you have the wondrous Kitchen-Aid mixer with the dough hook, you are all set (just make sure you don’t forget to add flour as necessary).

I’ve tasted other recipes that are basically the same, but don’t call for the milk (just more water). These are really good, and if you don’t have time to scald and cool the milk, they are good. But I think the milk gives it an extra bit of amazingness (for lack of a better, real word). Also, don’t forget the salt; it ruins the flavor of the bread if you leave it out (don’t ask me how I know that).

Well, here’s the recipe. It makes 2 regular-sized loaves.

Ingredients:

2 pkg yeast (4-1/2 tsp)

1/2 c warm water

2 c milk

1/3 c oil

1/4 c sugar

1 tbsp salt

6 c all purpose flour, divided (I have mixed and matched various amounts with wheat flour too with good results. I have never made this recipe with all wheat, though.)

Directions

  • Dissolve 2 pkg yeast in warm water (let sit at least 10 min).
  • Scald milk then cool.
  • Mix yeast/water, cooled milk, oil, sugar, and salt with mixer.
  • Mix in 3 c flour and blend for 3 minutes.
  • Knead in remaining 3 c flour for 10 minutes, adding additional flour in small amounts as necessary until dough is elastic.
  • Rise until doubled (cover bowl with towel and place in an oven that had been heated for 1 min. Put a bowl of warm water under the bowl with dough to decrease raising time).
  • Punch dough down and place in greased and floured pans. Let rise covered for 30 min.
  • Bake at 350 for 30 min (place oven rack on rack 2nd from bottom).
  • Enjoy!

{On Tuesdays, I share a yummy recipe. Typically, my recipes will be super easy, because I’m a mom with littles. I try to be healthy and frugal as well. But I like good food, so it will always be delicious! }

Leave a Reply

