Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Frugal Friday: Buying and Using Reduced-Price Produce

on September 27, 2013

ImageI have discovered my new favorite thing at Valli Produce–the reduced price produce section. Heaps of bananas marked down–perfect for banana bread. I just throw them in the freezer if I don’t have time to make it right away. My husband is always super excited when I buy 8-10 avocados for $1.49 total. That usually means my dinner plans for the night are changed, effective immediately! 🙂

I bought a bunch of Granny Smith apples in the reduced section the other day, knowing exactly what I would do with it: Apple pie. Filling. For the freezer! I now have 3 pies’ worth of filling ready to be placed in a crust at a moment’s notice. Hurray!

I also have been buying whichever apples are $0.59/lb or cheaper each week. I have found the simplest way ever to make cheap, delicious, easy applesauce that freezes well. After letting my apples soak for about 10 min in a vinegar/water bath, I cut the apple using my apple slicer (peels on!). Then, I toss all the apples in my steamer until they are soft. Once steamed, I throw them in my food processor, with some of the juice from the steamer and some cinnamon, and I have applesauce. Once cooled, I keep some in the fridge and put the rest in freezer bags to freeze for later.

Do you have any other ways you use reduced-price produce?

{Each Friday, I attempt to pass along a frugal tip I have learned or am attempting to learn. I love a good deal, and I love to help our family stay within the budget by being frugal in every area of life!}

Leave a Reply

