Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Worthy Word Wednesday: “Is Your Life a Mess? Are You Willing to Admit It?” & “Feel Like an Imposter?”

on September 25, 2013

I mentioned on Monday that I attended the Revive ’13 conference in Schaumburg last weekend. I wanted to share a couple “True Woman” blog posts summarizing a couple messages we heard.

The first post, “Is Your Life a Mess? Are You Willing to Admit It?” reminds us of Paul Tripp’s 2 messages from Mark 6 and then Psalm 27. Here are a couple of truths from his messages:

  • “God took them [the disciples] where they didn’t intend to go to produce in them what they couldn’t achieve on their own.”
  • “Difficulties are signs of the zeal of God’s transforming love.”
  • “Biblical faith never requires you to deny reality. If you have to establish momentary, personal hope by denying reality, you are not exercising biblical faith. What I love about the Bible is that it’s shockingly honest and gloriously hopeful at the same time. The honesty doesn’t diminish the hopefulness–and the hopefulness doesn’t negate the honesty.”
  • “So stop denying reality. Stop telling stories that make life look better than it actually is and that make you look better than you actually are. Jesus doesn’t need you to defend His reputation with your functional lives. If you’re lying about your life–if you’re really good at non-answers–that’s not faith. That’s shocking religious selfism.”

The second post, “Feel Like an Imposter?” reminds us of Elyse Fitzpatrick’s message, “Walking in the Light.” Here are a couple of the truths from her message:

  •  “When I bring my sin out into the light, it loses its power to bring me to despair.”
  • “As long as I’m hiding my sin, I’m not going to deal with it. Come out into the light! Then other people will be encouraged knowing God can use someone as weird and messed up as me.”
  • “The women who relate to you don’t need you to be perfect; they need you to be a sinner with a Savior.”

So good! So convicting! And, I just saw that conference audio is now available on truewoman.com for all of the main sessions and most of the breakout sessions!! I’m planning on re-listening to the ones I heard and listening to the breakout sessions I didn’t hear!

Did any of you attend Revive ’13? If so, or if you get a chance to listen to any of these sessions, let me know what God taught you!

{On Wednesdays, I share from a book, blog, or other resource some “worthy words.” I love to read, but my time for reading has been much decreased since the birth of my first child. I am encouraged when I am able to read snippets of precious truth as I come across them. Hopefully these few words will encourage your heart, as well as give you a resource for fuller reading as your time allows.}

 

Leave a Reply

