Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Tasty Tuesday: No-Fuss Potato Soup

on September 24, 2013

POTATO SOUPThis recipe is the best! It is easier than other potato soup recipes I’ve tried. It’s healthier. It’s delicious. It’s crock pot. It’s currently in my crock pot to be eaten for dinner this beautiful fall day, paired with some homemade bread. 🙂

Makes 8-10 servings; ideal crock pot size: 5-6 quart

 

Ingredients:

6 cups diced, peeled potatoes

5 cups water (Sometimes I will replace 1-2 cups of the water with chicken broth if I have some on hand; then I will reduce the bouillon cubes by 1 or 2.)

2 cups diced onions

½ cup diced celery

½ cup chopped carrots

¼ cup light, soft tub margarine

4 tsp chicken bouillon powder (can use sodium free; I use 4 bouillon cubes)

1 tsp salt

¼ tsp pepper

12-oz can evaporated milk (can use fat-free)

3 tbsp chopped fresh parsley (I just use 1 tbsp dried parsley)

8 oz cheddar cheese, shredded (can use fat-free)

Directions:

  • Combine all ingredients except milk, parsley, and cheese in slow cooker.
  • Cover. Cook on High 7-8 hours, or until vegetables are tender.
  • Stir in milk and parsley. Stir in cheese until it melts. Heat thoroughly.
  • Enjoy! 🙂

{Adapted from Fix-It and Forget-It Diabetic Cookbook}

Note: I prepared this for some friends one day, then found out that one of my friends was currently sensitive to dairy. I ladled out some soup for her before I added the milk and cheese, and she said it was delicious!

I’ll try to remember to take some pics of the finished product and update the post later!

{On Tuesdays, I share a yummy recipe. Typically, my recipes will be super easy, because I’m a mom with littles. I try to be healthy and frugal as well. But I like good food, so it will always be delicious! }

Leave a Reply

