Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Monday Meditations: Thankful for My Sin

on September 23, 2013

ImageThis past weekend I was privileged to attend the Revive ’13 Conference, Women Helping Women, with the 2 deacons’ wives in my church. What a life-changing opportunity! The ministry of the Word through speakers like Nancy Leigh DeMoss, Elyse Fitzpatrick, and Paul David Tripp, along with the break-out session speakers was incredible.

Friday night, Elyse spoke on “Walking in the Light” from 1 John 1. And this just so happened to be the exact chapter I was scheduled to read in my devotions this morning! So, below is the compilation of my thoughts from the text, as well as some of Elyse’s comments from my notes.

The bottom line is that God is light. As Christians, we walk that light. The message of the Gospel promotes fellowship between believers because our fellowship is with the Father.

One of the lies that Elyse focused on from the chapter is the lie that we say that we have no sin (verse 8). But true fellowship with believers, true fellowship in the light requires that we let ourselves be known. It means that we don’t pretend that we’re not sinners.

But our sin always wants to make us hide. It makes us feel ashamed. Elyse brought us back to the very first sinners, Adam and Eve. What did they do after they sinned and realized they were naked? They were ashamed and covered up their nakedness with fig leaves.

But then we remember 1 John 1:9, God is faithful to forgive our sins. You don’t need a Savior if you’re not a sinner! (quoting Elyse). If I seek to minister to other women, and if I cover myself in “churchy-looking fig leaves” (Elyse) in order to hide my sin so that I look good, I will thwart my ability to help others. Who wants to open up their heart and troubles to a believer who seems to never sin?

Rather, I need to be transparent about my sin before God and others. God already knows the depth of my sinfulness, but he doesn’t look at that! When God looks at me he sees Jesus. He sees Jesus’ perfect life; he sees Jesus’ blood; he sees the power of Jesus’ resurrection working through me to live for God.

When I cover my sin before others, there is no opportunity for them to see Jesus through me; all they can see is me! My sin should not cause me to despair. Rather, my sin should force me to be thankful for Christ and to point others to the merciful, gracious work of Christ in me!

What does this mean for me practically? This past weekend it meant that the ladies I was with and I confessed some of our sins and struggles to one another, wept together, prayed together. It means that I have a burning desire to see this kind of “light,” this kind of transparency among the fellowship of the ladies of our church. It means I desire to have this kind of transparency with my husband, as I confess my sin to him and as we marvel at the grace of God in our lives. It means that I am on the same level as every believer that I minister with and to, a sinner saved by grace!

{Note: Please be aware that I am not suggesting that we “continue in sin that grace may abound” (c.f. Romans 6:1ff). I also do not recommend that you share every detail of every sin with everyone in an effort to be transparent. Discernment should always be exercised!}

{On Mondays, I share some thoughts from my pastor’s (husband’s 🙂 ) sermon on Sunday. This will be good for me, as it will help cement God’s truths in my head and heart. I hope these truths will encourage and challenge you! If you’re interested in hearing a particular sermon, you can head here to listen.}

One response to “Monday Meditations: Thankful for My Sin

  1. […] mentioned on Monday that I attended the Revive ’13 conference in Schaumburg last weekend. I wanted to share a couple […]

Leave a Reply

