Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Worthy Word Wednesday: God, our Treasure

on September 18, 2013

ImageWhile reading another book the other day (Because He Loves Me by Elyse Fitzpatrick), I came across a quote from a book that I read a long time ago. It is a wonderful book that I highly recommend, The Pursuit of God by A.W. Tozer. I wrote this quote down in my journal when I first read it, and I have read it many times since:

The man who has God for his treasure has all things in one. Many ordinary treasures may be denied him, or if he is allowed to have them, the enjoyment of them will be so tempered that they will never be necessary to his happiness. Or if he must see them go, one after one, he will scarcely feel a sense of loss, for having the Source of all things he has in One all satisfaction, all pleasure, all delight.

I love this, but it is SO convicting. My happiness is an indicator of how much (or whether!) I am treasuring God, regardless of my abundance of or lack of earthly pleasures (sinful or not). What I treasure reveals where my heart is, as Jesus tells us in Matthew 6:19-21:

Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

I am a nurse, so I am used to looking at symptoms to try to figure out the cause of the symptoms. If I am discontent, angry, complaining, lacking joy, etc, I must figure out what is causing those “symptoms,” for these are not the real problem. Sinful words and actions are the symptoms of a heart problem (“For out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks” Matt 12:34). They reveal that my heart is treasuring my own plans, earthly treasures, sinful pursuits, etc –  but not God. For if I was truly treasuring God, I would have “all satisfaction, all pleasure, all delight” no matter what.

So, what do we keep in our treasure boxes? Our hearts will always reveal what we treasure. May we all have hearts that reveal that God truly is our Treasure!

{On Wednesdays, I share from a book, blog, or other resource some “worthy words.” I love to read, but my time for reading has been much decreased since the birth of my first child. I am encouraged when I am able to read snippets of precious truth as I come across them. Hopefully these few words will encourage your heart, as well as give you a resource for fuller reading as your time allows.}

One response to “Worthy Word Wednesday: God, our Treasure

  1. […] Worthy Word Wednesday: God, our Treasure Sep […]

Leave a Reply

