Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Tasty Tuesday: Creamy Chicken Enchiladas

on September 17, 2013

chicken enchiladas

 

My family LOVES Mexican food. Dave and I could eat it every day. Thankfully, Calvin and Mackenna love it too! 😉

Here is one of my go-to recipes when we are in the mood for Mexican. It’s inexpensive, easy, and oh-so-good.

 

Ingredients

1 can (10-3/4 oz) condensed cream of chicken soup

8 oz sour cream {UPDATE: I used yogurt instead yesterday, and I couldn’t tell a difference!}

1 cup salsa (I actually make my own enchilada sauce and use that; I don’t like chunks!)

2 tsp chili powder

2 cups chopped, cooked chicken (or turkey)

1 cup shredded monterrey jack cheese

12 (6-in) flour tortillas (I use the slightly bigger ones, and it makes about 9-10)

Directions

  • Mix soup, sour cream, salsa, and chili powder in a medium bowl.
  • Combine chicken and cheese in another bowl.
  • Mix 1 cup of the soup mixture with the chicken and cheese (Save remaining soup mixture for top).
  • Spread about ¼ cup of chicken mixture in each tortilla. Roll up and place seam-side down in 9×13 baking dish. {UPDATE: I found that spreading about 1/4-1/2 cup of enchilada sauce on the bottom of the pan helped the enchiladas not stick so much, while also helping them not be so crispy as if I had just used cooking spray}
  • Spread remaining soup mixture on top.
  • Bake uncovered at 350 for 40 minutes.
  • Enjoy! 🙂

UPDATE: This is great served on a bed of lettuce with tomatoes on top. I also make my own chips by spraying both sides of corn tortillas with cooking spray, cutting them into chip-size pieces, placing them on a baking sheet, sprinkling salt on top, and baking them in a 425-degree oven for about 6-7 minutes. Yummy and healthy–especially if dipped in homemade guacamole and/or salsa! 🙂

{On Tuesdays, I share a yummy recipe. Typically, my recipes will be super easy, because I’m a mom with littles. I try to be healthy and frugal as well. But I like good food, so it will always be delicious! }

2 responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Creamy Chicken Enchiladas

  1. […] would be a perfect side with my creamy chicken enchiladas! […]

Leave a Reply

