Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Frugal Friday: Shopping Around {for Groceries}

on September 13, 2013

ImageI have learned that the best way to shop for groceries is to shop at 2 (or more, occasionally) different stores. Before I was married I used to grocery shop exclusively at stores that carried everything from clothing to toys to groceries (stores like Meijer). I wasted so much money. Now I put in a tiny bit more work and “shop around.”

The store that I go to every week for my basic necessities is Aldi. I do the bulk of my grocery shopping there, and I spend very little for great quality. I love how small the store is, as well. I can be in and out (as much as my 2 kids who are with me let me) pretty quickly.

If necessary, I then shoot over to my second store of choice. Now that we live in Illinois, that store is Valli. I actually head here most weeks to pick up produce, meat, and special items. I signed up for their weekly ad emails to help me figure that out ahead of time.

Other stores, like Meijer or Schnucks, will have occasionally amazing deals, like 10 for $10, get the 11th free. Those are about the only times that I shop at these stores. And then it’s only to jump on those deals. Meijer would sometimes have that deal with OJ, so I would buy a bunch. These are the kind of weeks I may go to 3 grocery stores. But that is very occasional.

Now, you may have to take into account distance. If the amount of gas you’re paying is a huge amount because you’re driving around to more than one grocery store, you may want to limit yourself to one. Thankfully, all these stores are just minutes away from each other and my home, so my biggest challenge is carting my children around (literally! 😉 ).

Saving money is work, but every penny helps!

Happy Weekend! 🙂

{Each Friday, I attempt to pass along a frugal tip I have learned or am attempting to learn. I love a good deal, and I love to help our family stay within the budget by being frugal in every area of life!}

2 responses to “Frugal Friday: Shopping Around {for Groceries}

  1. Cheryl says:

    Holly,
    Check out Krazy Coupon Lady (on line and facebook) for tips. I started working with some of her ideas and saved a bunch. Also don’t overlook CVS. I do really well with them. Target has a thing called Cartwheel. Use it, a manufacturer’s Coupon, a Target Coupon, and a Target RedCard and get good deals. All You is a great magazine for tips on saving money. Unfortunately, it is only sold at WalMart. The WalMart is far from us. However, look on line for it. And don’t forget Meijer has a credit card and mperks. As for Aldi, I never went there. The closest one is in Pontiac and several years ago had a hold up which didn’t go well for the employees.
    Personally, I find it a victory to shop and save. It’s actually a hobby of mine and I carry my coupons in envelopes in my purse.
    Hope all is well for you and yours. Time got cut short for me on my Chicago trip and I hope to be making a second one later this year to visit you. I’ll keep you posted.
    Hugs and love to all.
    Cheryl

    • Holly says:

      Thanks, Cheryl! I took the summer off couponing with the big move, and I’m gradually getting back into it. I LOVE CVS! I’m constantly getting free of super-cheap stuff there. I have heard of the Krazy Coupon Lady, but haven’t followed her much. I mostly follow hip2save. She actually pretty frequently will post deals on getting All You Magazine cheap. We don’t have a Meijer here, but I heard one is coming! 🙂 I didn’t realize you loved to coupon too! Looking forward to seeing you!!

Leave a Reply

