Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Thursday Thoughts: Why {I thought} I’d Never Homeschool and Why {I think} I’m Going to Like It

on September 12, 2013

ImageIt’s that time of year when I see everyone on Facebook posting pictures of first days of preschool or school. I’m seeing (or becoming more aware of, at least) a growing trend of moms who are homeschooling their children. And I’m finding that I am one of them.

I never thought that I would homeschool. I loved the Christian school that I attended. I received a great education and biblical foundation. I always assumed I would send my kids to a school like that. Another reason? I never considered elementary education as a major in college. In fact, I would have passionately hated that field. Teaching a bunch of little kids is more frightening to me than starting IV’s on people (I majored in nursing)!

However, when we recently moved from my home town, I quickly realized that our Christian education options outside of the home were going to be very limited. When I mentioned to one of my former co-workers that I was considering homeschooling, she just looked at me with a disturbed face and stated, “But they’re never going to be able to sit by their friends at lunch!”

Homeschooling does seem to have its own stigma: Homeschoolers are weird. I have a few thoughts on why homeschoolers are {thought to be} weird:

  • Their parents may be weird. If the parents are weird, there is a high likelihood that the child–homeschooled or not–will also be weird. So, don’t blame homeschooling; blame the parents. 🙂
  • The other kids around them may be so “cool” that the homeschooled kid’s (or any other “un-cool” kid’s) lack of coolness is referred to as “weird.” That’s ok. I was a Christian school un-cool kid. 🙂
  • They may have parents who have no clue what they’re doing homeschooling and totally mess their kids up. Not ok.
  • They may have parents that are so protective that the child is not allowed to breathe without their parents’ permission.

Despite this stigma (and these are again just my musings and observations in general), I think I’m going to really enjoy homeschooling. I’ve just started All About Reading (pre-reading) with my 3-year old, and I’ve really enjoyed it. And I think he is learning, too (key indicator that things are going well! 😉 ). Here are the reasons I think I’m going to enjoy it:

  • I will get the chance to really get to know my kids and establish good relationships. Not that this cannot be done with traditional schooling. But I will get the opportunity to spend day-in, day-out time with them. My goal is not to hover and to protect but to disciple. I will have the opportunity to hourly live out the principles of Deuteronomy 6:5-7:

You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might. And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise.

  • I get to learn with them. I am kind of embarrassed to admit how much I have forgotten from history and science and such. I get to re-learn all of that.
  • It will save money. Christian education is expensive. Homeschooling will help a bit. It may help us put some more money toward their college educations.

These are simply my thoughts. I know that there are pros and cons to various aspects of educational systems. I know that no teacher or parent is perfect. I know that all the discipling in the world will do nothing unless God pours his grace into the hearts of my little ones. And so every decision we make regarding our children is bathed in prayer that God would grant his grace to my children so that they too may come to love the Lord their God with all their hearts.

{On Thursdays, I share some thoughts about what God is teaching me in my various roles as a Christian, a woman, a wife, a mother, and a pastor’s wife.}

Leave a Reply

