Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Tasty Tuesday: “Amazingly Delicious Roasted Green Beans”

on September 10, 2013

ImageIt is not many times that I have had a teenager ask me for a recipe, especially a recipe for a veggie. This recipe fits the bill on both counts! 🙂 I had a bag of frozen green beans that I was planning on using for dinner one day, and I wanted something a little different than plain old warmed up green beans. So, I googled for recipes and hit on this one at momadvice.com/blog. Never again will I make boring green beans!!

Serves 6-8

Ingredients:

2# fresh or frozen green beans

1-2 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp minced garlic

Salt & pepper, to taste

Zest from one lemon (save juice) {I have skipped the zest and added bottled lemon juice in a pinch and it tasted good}

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 400.
  • Sprinkle seasonings, lemon zest, and garlic over beans. Drizzle olive oil over beans and mix with hands.
  • Spread in a single layer on a cookie sheet. Roast for 20-25 minutes for fresh and an additional 10-15 minutes for frozen.
  • Place on a serving platter and squeeze lemon juice on top.
  • Enjoy!

{On Tuesdays, I share a yummy recipe. Typically, my recipes will be super easy, because I’m a mom with littles. I try to be healthy and frugal as well. But I like good food, so it will always be delicious! }

Leave a Reply

