Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Worthy Word Wednesday: Excellence {a book by Dr. Andreas Köstenberger}

on September 4, 2013

{On Wednesdays, I share from a book, blog, or other resource some “worthy words.” I love to read, but my time for reading has been much decreased since the birth of my first child. I am encouraged when I am able to read snippets of precious truth as I come across them. Hopefully these few words will encourage your heart, as well as give you a resource for fuller reading as your time allows.}

ImageMy husband is working on a Ph.D. at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary. His focus is Christian leadership. Thankfully, we are now {yes, I did say we! 😉 } at the dissertation stage. Dave’s mentor in the program is Dr. Andreas Köstenberger. Dave has said so many wonderful things about this humble, intelligent man. I am looking forward to meeting him one day.

One of the books that is on my to-read-very-soon list is this book by Dr. Köstenberger. My husband highly recommends it as one of the top 5 books every Christian leader should read. When I saw this book and my husband’s description (below), I knew I had to read it soon.

Here is my husband’s description of the book from his blog:

Excellence: The Character of God and the Pursuit of Scholarly Virtue by Andreas J. Köstenberger

This book gives a biblical-theological survey for the various character traits of God and discusses how to reflect these traits as a Christian scholar. Despite the aim for what may seem to be a narrow audience, most (if not all) of what is said in this book should be essential reading for church leaders and anyone who wishes to regularly communicate truth in some way, whether via blog, book, lecture, or sermon.

And here is just a taste of the first chapter to whet your appetite:

Why Excellence?

Excellence is particularly important in such a context where the pressures toward sheer survival and mediocrity are particularly intense. Why? The primary reason for this is bound up with the nature and character of God. God is the grounds of all true excellence. He is the one who fills any definition of excellence with meaning, and he is the reason why we cannot be content with lackluster mediocrity, halfhearted effort, or substandard scholarship. Excellence starts and ends with God and is first and foremost a hallmark and attribute of God. Without God as our starting point and continual point of reference, our discussion of excellence would be hopelessly inadequate (p 34, emphasis original).

Has anyone read this book? Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

