Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Tasty Tuesday: Delicious Chicken Pockets {bet you can’t eat just one!}

on September 3, 2013

{On Tuesdays, I share a yummy recipe. Typically, my recipes will be super easy, because I’m a mom with littles. I try to be healthy and frugal as well. But I like good food, so it will always be delicious! }

Part of me does not want to share this recipe. It’s one of those deliciously amazing recipes that looks and tastes fabulous. It makes it look like I’m a gourmet cook. . . when I’m not. It’s my go-to recipe when we have guests to our home. As my husband is the new pastor at our church, we’ve been trying to have everyone over for dinner. I will not say how frequently we have eaten this dish! 😉 Or how frequently people who have eaten this have asked for the recipe! Perhaps in another post I will share my favorite side dish I usually make alongside this: my mom’s baked macaroni and cheese!

Anyway, here’s the recipe (makes 4 chicken pockets):

Ingredients:

3 oz softened cream cheese (you can use low-fat)

3 tbsp melted butter or margarine, divided

2 cups cooked chicken, chopped or shredded

1/8 tsp salt

2 tbsp milk (I always use skim)

1 tbsp chopped onion

¼ cup bread crumbs

1 package crescent rolls (you can use reduced fat)

Directions:

  • Blend cream cheese, 2 tbsp melted butter, salt, and milk. Add chicken and onion.
  • Divide crescent rolls into 4 rectangles and press seams together.
  • Place about a heaping ¼ cup of chicken mixture on top of rolls and fold sides around chicken, pinching seams together. {It probably will look messy; that’s ok. That’s what the next step is for!}
  • Brush with the remaining butter. Sprinkle with bread crumbs.
  • Bake at 350 for 20minutes or until rolls are slightly brown.
  • Enjoy! 🙂

{I’m making this for my parents who are coming to visit us this weekend. I’ll try to remember to take a picture before they’re devoured (the chicken pockets–not my parents! ;)) and update this post!}

Leave a Reply

