Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Tasty Tuesday: The Absolutely BEST Oatmeal Cookie Recipe EVER!

on August 27, 2013

{On Tuesdays, I share a yummy recipe. Typically, my recipes will be super easy, because I’m a mom with littles. I try to be healthy and frugal as well. But I like good food, so it will always be delicious! }

I know it can be somewhat annoying when people claim to have the best recipe for something, but. . . this one is! 🙂 Any time my sisters, mom, or I (My dad’s even made some to give to people!) make these, people are amazed at how good they are. I felt especially assured of the quality of this recipe when one of the 90-year old {amazing} ladies at our church asked me for the recipe, wondering what the secret ingredient was! Score!! 😉

To be honest, I don’t know that there is a secret ingredient. But, this is the only oatmeal cookie recipe I know. (And, in my humble opinion, it is the only one you will need to know too, once you try it!) I do believe, however, that there is a key to getting them so soft and delicious: very, very slightly under-bake them. {My mom, however, will tell you to bake them for the full time, because she does not like them soft, chewy, and deliciously amazing.}

If you would like to {ruin them-ha! 🙂 }, you could add raisins. Or you could add chocolate chips. But, honestly, they are amazing as is.

{Makes about 2 dozen cookies, depending on size}

Ingredients:

¾ cup Crisco

1 cup packed brown sugar

½ cup granulated sugar

1 egg

¼ cup water

1 tsp vanilla

3 cups uncooked quick oats (do NOT use old-fashioned oats!!)

1 cup flour

1 tsp salt

½ tsp baking soda

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 350.
  • Combine Crisco, sugars, egg, water, and vanilla in a large bowl. Mix well.
  • Add flour, salt, and baking soda, mixing well.
  • Stir in oats.
  • Place on baking sheet in spoonfuls. {I prefer bigger spoonfuls, especially because I under-bake them a bit. If you like them crispier, make them smaller.}
  • Bake 12-15 minutes {Now, this is where I deviate. I think this is the most important deviation in the whole recipe. I will typically set the timer for 8 or 9 minutes, based on the size of my spoonfuls. I will then add a minute at a time if necessary, as I watch them bake. I pull them out when they are just starting to look done, yet they still look a little “wet.” They will look quite under-baked when you pull them out. Yet, as they cool, they will firm up a little. It may take some practice, but once you figure out your perfect “doneness” level, it will be delicious!}
  • Cool for a minute or so on the baking sheet if you under-baked them slightly, or else they will fall apart when you transport them to a cooling rack. Once they look a little more firm, transport to a cooling rack.
  • Enjoy! 🙂
Leave a Reply

