Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Frugal Friday: Diapers, Wipes, & Diaper Disposal {Saving you Money!}

on August 23, 2013

{Each Friday, I try to attempt to pass along a frugal tip I have learned or am attempting to learn. I love a good deal, and I love to help our family stay within the budget by being frugal in every area of life!}

baby in diaperLet me state up front, that this is not a disposable vs. cloth diaper post. 🙂 I was interested once upon a time in cloth, but my husband (who used to watch the kiddos when I worked part-time) gave them the thumbs down. Time (and convenience) is money, as my husband often tells me. So, we use disposable.

Let me also state up front that what is “best” for one mom and her child(ren) may not be best for another mom/child(ren). When it comes to caring for our babies, sometimes we moms are paranoid that if our baby products are not “the best” (read: the most expensive or natural brand available), we are going to forever scar our children and cause them immense bodily harm. In my humble opinion, we need to stop being paranoid, make wise and balanced decisions, and trust the Lord.

That being said, here are some tips for making frugal decisions about diapering:

  •  Be willing to try a variety of brandsincluding store brands. I was scared to try store brands initially after my first child was born, because the huge drop in price {I thought} must surely mean that the “cheapo” diapers are going to tear my baby’s precious little bottom to shreds. But, I overcame my fear and trepidatiously bought my first pack of Luvs, then Walgreens, then Rite-Aid, then CVS, then. . . Dollar Store! And his bottom was just fine. And my budget was even finer! {On a side note, sometimes certain brands don’t work for certain babies. My son leaked through all his Huggies diapers and none of the store brands!}
  •  Set a price point for your diapers and wipes. Set a price for which you will buy diapers and wipes, and don’t buy them if the price is any higher. This means you will have to stock up when the price is at or–especially–below your price point. For example, the most I will pay for a jumbo pack (any brand) of diapers is $5 (which ends up being $0.14 or less per size 3 diaper, if I’m buying a bigger pack). If I see them below $5, I will buy as many as my budget allows. My price point for wipes is less than or equal to $.02 a wipe.
  •  Rip your wipes in half for wet bottoms. I only recently started doing this.  1 whole wipe is a lot for just a little wet bottom. ½ works just fine, and they rip very easily!
  •  Use resealable sandwich bags for your dirty diapers. I used to own a diaper genie. It was nice, but the refills were so expensive! When I threw dirty and wet diapers in it, I went through the refills so quickly. So, I tried only throwing dirty diapers in there. I don’t recommend that unless you like your cute little nursery smelling like a septic tank! I even tried garbage bags in the diaper genie to no avail. Then my bright husband recommended sandwich bags for the dirty diapers. And they work great! We throw the wet diapers right in the garbage along with the dirty diapers–sealed in a sandwich bag! {We even re-use our sandwich bags for this. Any bag that was used for a non-messy item like a sandwich or crackers goes in an empty sandwich bag box to use for dirty diapers!}

And that, my readers, is the bottom-line for how I save money diapering my children! 😉

Do you have any other frugal tips for diapering?

4 responses to “Frugal Friday: Diapers, Wipes, & Diaper Disposal {Saving you Money!}

  1. Kari says:

    Good thoughts! We throw our poopy diapers on the front porch until we get around to putting them in the garbage outside. LOL

  2. Debbi says:

    So we aren’t the only ones who rip wipes in half! And we do various brands, and a price point for diapers & wipes. We also put stinky diapers in empty grocery store plastic bags (or other random plastic bags, sandwich bags welcome) and then in a covered garbage can on the porch or in the basement.

Leave a Reply

