Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Worthy Word Wednesday: Patience with Your Children

on August 21, 2013

{On Wednesdays, I share from a book, blog, or other resource some “worthy words.” I love to read, but my time for reading has been much decreased since the birth of my first child. I am encouraged when I am able to read snippets of precious truth as I come across them. Hopefully these few words will encourage your heart, as well as give you a resource for fuller reading as your time allows.}

One of my favorite Christian blogs is girltalk. The emphasis of the blog is biblical womanhood. I have found this blog so helpful and encouraging. . . and a lot of fun too!

I was prepared to post something else today, but Nicole’s post–even the second time around!—challenged me once again in an area that I struggle with: patience. Particularly, patience with my children!

No matter how many times I read Colossians 3:12 (“put on. . . patience”)–and even write it on my chalkboard in my dining room, so I read it multiple times every day. . . No matter how many times I beg God to give me patience. . . No matter how many times I remember God’s patience with me. . . I am still impatient.

So, what is a mom to do?! Do you ever get headaches frequently? The quick fix is to take some meds and pray the headache goes away. The smart thing is to prevent the headache if you can. Did I eat well, sleep well?

What I am s.l.o.w.l.y learning is that I can attempt to do things to prevent the impatience from building up.  For example, when I am in a hurry, my kids never are and seem rather to move  either in the opposite direction or in the same direction with rocks in their shoes. (Not that much would change if I wasn’t in a hurry!) But if I wasn’t in a hurry, I could have the time to patiently prod and teach them.

Another is example is when I’m trying to write a blog post. If I do it in the play room while both my kids are up, they naturally climb all over me. My 3-year old begs for a story and my 15-month old climbs all over me trying to push every button on my computer (as she is doing right now, as well as almost sticking her foot in my coffee!).  I get impatient with them because I am not choosing the right time to do my blog posting (save it for a nap!).

Nicole gives some great tips on being patient. She encourages us to identify temptation points, be consistent, don’t do stupid things twice, be grateful, and pray. I love her last words on prayer:

“There is something about going to God in prayer that reminds us just how patient our heavenly Father is with us. This produces humility in our hearts, which in turn, produces patience toward our children. And we need God’s help. So let’s pray. He is eager to help us to model His patience toward our children.”

You can read her full article here (and check out the rest of their blog while you’re at it!).

Col 3:12-14 ~ Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience, bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive. And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony.”

 

Leave a Reply

