Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Monday Meditations: Praying for All People

on August 19, 2013

{On Mondays, I would like to share some thoughts from my pastor’s (husband’s 🙂 ) sermon on Sunday. This will be good for me, as it will help cement God’s truths in my head and heart. I hope these truths will encourage and challenge you! If you’re interested in hearing a particular sermon, you can head here to listen.}

woman_prayingText: 1 Timothy 2:1-2

“First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people, for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly and dignified in every way.”

Truth    

Reading these verses alone, you might think that Paul, the author writing to Timothy, is saying that Christians should pray for everybody, especially those in authority. Which he is. But there is an object to that prayer if you look at the whole context.

1 Tim. 1 is constantly pointing to the Gospel, from opposing those who don’t promote the Gospel, to proclaiming the truth of the Gospel (Jesus died to save sinners!), to challenging Timothy to fight for the Gospel.

How does Timothy fight for the Gospel? First, by praying for all people! Praying for what? That they may be saved! Verses 3-7 go on to say that praying for all people’s salvation is good and pleasing to a God who desires all to be saved.

Paul hones in on two particular ways to pray for the salvation of all people in verse 2:

1. Pray that those who are in authority would lead in such a way that we (believers) can live peacefully and quietly, allowing us to give the Gospel to all people.

2. Believers should pray for themselves and other believers, that we would live godly and dignified lives, so we complement (rather than detract from!) our giving of the Gospel.

Thoughts

  • I can fight for the Gospel by praying for people’s salvation. I can fight on my knees!
  • I need to pray on a regular basis for all authority (national, international, etc.) to lead in such a way that I and other believers can freely give the Gospel.
  • I need to intentionally live in a godly and dignified way, remembering that my testimony can complement or detract from the Gospel.
  • I need to pray that other believers would live godly lives for the sake of the Gospel.

{If you’re wondering what all this “Gospel talk” is, check out my page on the right, “what is the truth?”}

Leave a Reply

