Keep on Swimming. . .

everyday life inside the fishbowl

Frugal Friday: Using a Whole Chicken & Making Homemade Broth {EASY!}

on August 16, 2013

chicken stockEach Friday, I would like to pass on a frugal tip that I have learned/am learning. Today’s tip concerns food. My family will all tell you that I like good food. In fact, my husband would tell you that food is one of my love languages! 🙂 So, here are my chicken tips:

1. Buy WHOLE chicken. It seems like a regular price for chicken (at Aldi, at least) is $0.89/lb. Anything under this, I would personally stock up on. But this is a decent price from what I’ve observed. SO MUCH cheaper than buying boneless, skinless chicken breasts! These can be helpful to have for “back-up,” but they cost more than I am personally willing to regularly spend for chicken.

2. Keep all your carrot peels and ends, onion ends and skin, etc in a bag in the freezer. I’ve heard that you can use all this to make vegetable broth. One day, I will do this, but until then. . .

3. Throw your entire chicken (or two or three!) in a stock pot. Your chicken can be frozen or thawed. It doesn’t matter; I’ve done both. Throw some salt and pepper on top of the chicken. Throw your bag of frozen veggie pieces, peels, etc on top of the chicken. Fill the pot with water until everything is covered.

4. Bring to a slow boil, then let simmer until the chicken falls apart. This usually takes a few hours.

5. Strain the chicken broth by covering a very large bowl or pot with cheesecloth (I bought my cheesecloth at Bed, Bath, and Beyond). The bowl/pot will be HOT!

6. Toss the vegetable pieces out and beg your husband to de-bone the chicken for you! 😉 I shred or chop the chicken, put it in 2-cup portions in freezer bags, and freeze for future use.

7. Let the broth cool at room temp, then place in the fridge overnight. Skim the broth the next day to remove the fat.

8.  I freeze the broth in various portions: 8 cups in freezer bags for soup, 2 cups in freezer bags for various recipes, and a little in ice-cube trays for various recipes.

And there you have it! Frugal, easy, and delicious chicken and homemade broth!

3 responses to “Frugal Friday: Using a Whole Chicken & Making Homemade Broth {EASY!}

  1. […] loved these! For most recipes calling for chicken, I just buy a whole chicken, because it’s a lot cheaper. This recipe, though, is a great one if you find a good deal on […]

Leave a Reply

